A Brief Explanation of Creative Commons

I was asked a very good question by one of my students as a response to our Our Class of Heroes~Animoto blog:  

“I was thinking, say you were a music teacher at some school and you recorded one of the pieces that your students did. Would it be illegal to load it onto a slide-show you were making?”

My response…(teacher friends, if I’m wrong…please set me straight!)

“Excellent question Lizzie! The short answer is no…as long as the music is being performed by the class. If the teacher used a recorded piece of music (from a CD or Audio File) that would be a little different; especially if the music was uploaded into the slideshow. There are many sites now that offer music that has been licensed as creative commons though (Animoto is an example of that)…most of those songs can be used, but not sold for profit (depending on the license used). I will post a video that explains this pretty well, and we’ll talk about it in class more too. Thanks for reminding me to explain this more!”

Check out the video below…it explains the basic guidelines of Creative Commons licensing. The best thing you can do though, is ask a teacher or parent before you post anything to a website.
[blip.tv ?posts_id=289871&dest=-1]

4 Comments

Filed under 21st Century, collaborate, Create, Creativity

4 responses to “A Brief Explanation of Creative Commons

  1. Lizzie

    Thanks for clearing that out for me Mrs.Anderson! 🙂

  2. Good post. I have recorded music played by my students in music class and posted on the blog as well. Most (if not all) music used in schools come with a performance license that allows it to be used publicly.
    Mr. C

  3. Thanks for the information! It was a great question, and really made me look at some holes in what I’ve been teaching. With students using tools like Microsoft Movie Maker, Photostory, and Animoto where they can upload their own music, its good to be clear on the law. I will definitely be posting student work soon too…and plan to use creativecommons.org as a tool for showing licensing (I’m learning as much as they are!)

  4. I understand completely. We unfortunately don’t have the option of not learning about copyright because we have a responsibility to teach it to our students. Therefor, we have no choice but to learn and share it with our students. BTW I have licensed my class blogs with creative commons licenses.
    Mr. C

Leave a Reply

