Our Class of Heroes~Animoto

If you are not able to see the video (pesky filter issues;). Please link to one of these sites: Schooltube or Animoto

[clearspring_widget title=”Animoto.com” wid=”46928cc51133af17″ pid=”49bb25ef44a95926″ width=”432″ height=”240″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

The above video includes a few of my favorite quotes:

Merrium-Webster’s Dictionary’s definition of hero:

  • a: a mythological or legendary figure often of divine descent endowed with great strength or ability 
  • b: an illustrious warrior 
  • c: a person admired for their achievements and noble qualities 
  • d: one that shows great courage 
  • e: the central figure in an event, period, or movement

Click on the links above to learn a little more about each leader. Think about the quotes and choose one to interpret (explain). Using what you’ve learned about each person and the definition of hero, describe what you think the quote means. (Ideas to strengthen your response: explain how you could use the words to help guide your own life choices or describe how we can learn from role models like those listed above)

19 Comments

Filed under Reflection, Respond, Writing

19 responses to “Our Class of Heroes~Animoto

  1. linda704

    My favorite quote, by which I try to live my life: “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

  2. The hero I choose is Martin Luther King Jr. because he had a HUGE impact on the world. The quote I chose that he had said is: “Let Freedom Ring.” I chose that quote because it triggers a “ding” in my mind because it let black people feel actually GOOD about themselves. Which I think is very important for a healthy lifestyle.

  3. I really enjoyed the video. (thanks for the note on the filter) I’m in Grand Forks, North Dakota, where I teach English to high school students.

  4. Ok, I got my friend from Bonner Elementary School onto this blog and she (and I) absolutely LOVE the video. I am glad that you posted it on SchoolTube and on Animoto for everyone else to see! I will cherish this blog forever!

  5. Debbie Barber

    A favorite quote to add:

    “I decided to accept as true my own thinking” ~Georgia O’Keefe

  6. What a fantastic Animoto video! Your teacher is a valuable member of my learning network and I’m thrilled to see her giving you 21st century tools to learn with! I like how your video intersperses the people in your class with people that you’ve identified as heroes. It sends a powerful message about the hero in all of us. I hope that you will share what you’ve learned with someone else. Animoto is a really fun Web 2.0 application. You may want to check out some other fun apps that I share with teachers/students: http://www.voki.com, http://www.xtranormal.com, and http://www.mindomo.com. By the way, I’m in Buffalo, NY, where it’s cold and supposed to snow (again!) tonight! I hope it’s warmer where you are and I hope you don’t mind if I share your Animoto with other teachers and kids. I think they should see the great things that other kids do! Have a great rest of the week, and thanks for sharing! -Mike Fisher

  7. Great Animoto video! I am a 5th grade teacher in Salina, KS and I appreciate being able to learn and share great learning experiences with your teacher. Our class has visited your blog and read your book reviews. We really enjoyed them. Thanks for following our site. Keep up the great work!

  8. dj345

    You did a wonderful job on your Animoto video. I like the Maya Angelou quote you chose. She has not let anyone stop her from living her life to the fullest. I am a librarian from Texas. Your book reviews are great, too.

  9. Hannah

    The hero of my life would have to be Erin hunter, the author of the Warriors series. She has filled my fifth grade year with a book series I cannot put down. Erin Hunter makes a good point in her books because she tells you that even if a person is different it doesn’t mean they’re not good enough. Erin Hunter has lessons in all of her books. I think Erin Hunter is an awsome author. (Erin Hunter is actually these three authors: Cherith Baldry, Kate Gary, and Victoria Holmes.)

  10. Kathryn Nerison

    Nice job on the video, Hawthorne Heroes. I teach special education students for Minneapolis Public Schools in Minnesota. My kids are kindergarten through age 20. By the way, I’m Marisa’s aunt. Keep up the good work.

  11. Marisa

    My hero is Martin Luther King Jr. because he did some really amazing things.The quote I picked is “We must use time effectively.” I picked this quote because he was a amazing person and I think that he really made a difference in the world. To me the quote “We must use time effectively” means that we should do things too. He made wonderful speeches like his famous “I have a dream” speech that talkes about how all people should be treated equally.

  12. I’m Lizzie’s brother and I think that the class of hero’s video is awesome! I wish I could have something like that for my classroom. Anyway that is awesome and I think you did VERY good job making it Mrs. Anderson. Thank you for making that, anyone I know would want to see that!

  13. Something in the video is so hooked to my mind. I am going to make slide-show making my new hobby. Me and my friend from Bonner (Dusty) Can’t stop watching it. She called me while I was watching it (for the 1000 time today. I almost have the song memorized 🙂 and I could hear the music playing in the backround. 🙂 So I knew she watching it with me. By the way, 218 views on SchoolTube! YAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. I love that you’re enjoying this so much! Believe me, I am too. If you like the slideshow part of it, there are a few other tricks I can show you. If you make projects at home, be sure to share them with me…I’ll probably make a project page where we can share creative ideas. Did you know you can save your images at http://www.sumopaint.com/app/ ? Make sure you save file a jpg. Then you can either email it to me or save it to your flash drive. We could create an online gallery!

  15. Thanks for stopping by Nathan! Keep checking in, I’ll try to keep adding fun things for you to see!

  16. eduguy101

    The Animoto was great. I am impressed and inspired by the heroes that the class picked and their quotes. It is amazing what students can do given the chance.

  17. I was thinking, say you were a music teacher at some school and you recorded one of the pieces that your students did. Would it be illegal to load it onto a slide-show you were making?

  18. Excellent question Lizzie! The short answer is no…as long as the music is being performed by the class. If the teacher used a recorded piece of music (from a CD or Audio File) that would be a little different; especially if the music was uploaded into the slideshow. There are many sites now that offer music that has been licensed as creative commons though (Animoto is an example of that)…most of those songs can be used, but not sold for profit (depending on the license used). I will post a video that explains this pretty well, and we’ll talk about it in class more too. Thanks for reminding me to explain this more!

  19. Pingback: A Brief Explanation of Creative Commons « Reflective Creations

Leave a Reply

