The best thing I have ever done during summer break…

Please respond in a complete paragraph (more if needed) to the prompt above. I have posted an example for you to follow. Find a way to creatively restate the prompt into your response, then add details to support your answer (you’ll hear that phrase quite often this year:). If you ever find that a prompt does not apply to you…you may “tweak” it a bit. Perhaps you can’t think of one event that stands out from your summer breaks, you may begin: “One of the things I love to do in the summer is…” or, maybe summer isn’t your favorite time of year, you may begin: “Because I hate the heat of the summer, I’ll describe the best thing I did last winter. My family and I…” Many options here…how you express your ideas through writing is the most important part.

To reply to a prompt:
1. Click on the heading to go to the main page
2. Type in your response in the “leave a reply” field
3. Click “submit comment”

14 Comments

Filed under Reflection, Respond, Writing

14 responses to “The best thing I have ever done during summer break…

  1. Tanner

    One of the best things I have ever done during summer break is the time I helped build my Uncle Mike’s cabin. I also got some time on on my four-wheeler because when we thought we had done enough for one day, I got to ride with my cousins. But perhaps my favorite time was when I got to hunt woodchucks with my pellet gun. Someday, I hope to build my own cabin in the same area.

  2. Mrs. Anderson

    Mrs. Anderson said…
    Last summer, I completed another one of my lifetime goals. I ran a marathon for the second time (26.2 miles!). I can honestly say this is something I never thought I would be able to do…(especially not twice!) Just goes to show, if you set a goal for yourself…you just may reach it (and crazy enough…I’m doing it again next summer too!)!

    Another great thing I do in the summer is I take my kids to the splash park near our house. We all have a great time splashing around in the water to avoid the heat of the summer sun. A blanket, sandwiches, sprayers, and Dilly Bars…doesn’t get much better than that!

  3. Lizzie

    The best thing that I have ever done over summer break was to try out a new swim park! My favorite is our city’s newest outdoor spash park and swimming pool- even though I have only been there once!

    Another thing I LOVE to do is camp! Bon-fires, s’mores, gopher-hunting, four-wheelers, lakes, rivers, hikes! Who wouldn’t like camping with my family and friends!

  4. Dante

    The best thing I did over summer break was spend time at our lake house. My dad and step mom let me and my brother drive the four wheeler to go and get stuff like firewood for the fire. One year, my dad let me drive a jetski all by myself and we got to go tubing, knee boarding, wake boarding, and water sking. Every year, we went up to our lake house and we would do spring clean-up and mow the lawn and burn all the brush. After all the work was done we would go down to the river to a place called Willow’s Bay. There, we would have either lunch or dinner. People from our family would come up and we would have fun and my step mom would start making dinner and we would put the jetskis in the water and my dad would take us on jetski rides and we would stop by Willow’s Bay and have some fries and get some thing to drink and then we would head home for dinner.

  5. Nate

    One of the best things I’ve done over the summer is go to Glacier National park in Montana, where I am right now, typing this. But any way, it was the middle of the summer and Glacier still had snow on some of their mountains (in the summer!) so we brought some sleds. We had to drive up the moutain to get to where we wanted to go sledding. We got to the top of the mountain and just then realized that we were wearing sandals in 50 degree heat with snow on the ground but we went sledding anyway. By the time we were done, our feet were NUMB! (freezing) on the way back to the camp-ground our feet got better, so then we went to go view more things (I advise you not to go sledding in sandals) P.s. very painful.

  6. Marisa

    The best thing I have done during summer break is to drive to Wisconsin with my family to get my dog Venn. We stopped at the Minniapolis zoo and got to stop and see my grandma in North Dakota. It was special to go drive to get him instead of him getting shipped here on an airplane. I thouroughly enjoyed it.

    Another thing I love to do is go camping because I love doing art projects and fishing.

  7. Sounds like a great experience Marisa! I would love to hear more about your camping excursions as well. I know you have had so many unique experiences, and I’m glad you’re finding this a useful space to share your stories. Keep writing! We love to hear what you have to say!

  8. katya

    The best thing I ever did over spring break was go to the Ukrain and Amsterdam.

  9. Hannah

    The best thing I did over summer break was I got to go to my aunts house in Washington. So fun!!!!!!

  10. Wow Katya! What an experience! I would love for you to choose one event from that trip to describe for us. Maybe we could put some pictures together and make your own post. Let me know what you think.

  11. Natasha

    One of the coolest things I have ever done over summer break was going to an Ospray game with my best friend Baley, we got to buy italian sodas, snow cones and silver baseballs. We were allowed to walk around the stadiam by ourselves and her grandma didn’t care. Then after the game get I got my silver baseball signed and on the ride back to my friends house I sat in between two of the Ospray players; it was awsome! I got to spend the night, and the next day we went out to swim and the Ospray players played in my friend’s pool with us until practice time. After that I went home.

  12. Sounds like an awesome time Natasha! Was one of the Osprey players related to your friend? Sometimes I think people in town host the players, too. How cool to have an experience like that!

  13. Katya

    The thing i am planning to do over this summer break is go to the Ukraine and swim in the black sea.

  14. Lizzie (a last year student:))

    2010, the year of multi-tasking. This summer I hope to visit my uncle in Rhode Island. I’ve already been there once and totally loved it! It was soooooooo much fun! Even though the weather wasn’t that great. We went to the zoo, the Providence Place, and the Boston mall, 30 mins away from his house!!! I even got to make a Build-A-Bear for my 15 month old cousin, Ryan. We named him Montana. He is a black bear. It felt sort of weird being in there, with all the other kids being waaaaaay younger than you are. It was loads of fun. We even went to a Lego store! We bought a GIANT moving carousel for my dad to build when we got home!! 🙂 Of course, I wasn’t alone. (I couldn’t have navigated my way through all the airports anyway!) I went with my grandma. Dad’s mom. Anyway, if you are looking for a great place to go for a vacation, look no farther than Cranston, Rhode Island. (Even if it is underwater right now.)

Leave a Reply

